How many countries share borders with Germany?

Trivia Crack Question: How many countries share borders with Germany?
Trivia Crack Answer: 9

About the 9 countries that border Germany

Germany is bordered by 9 countries: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Poland and Switzerland. The borders of Germany are, at this point, fairly uncontentious. Many of Germany’s bordering countries do not even have border control because of the Schengen Agreement. This agreement between Belgium, France, Germany, Luxembourg and the Netherlands created a plan to slowly remove any border control between the countries. The residents of these countries may freely enter each other country. Rather than stopping and inspecting cars as they enter a country, travelers must simply reduce speed to allow a cursory visual check of their vehicle. Many countries in the European Union have joined this agreement over the last twenty years, including Spain, Portugal, Italy, Norway and Switzerland. Basically the only countries not participating in these open border rules are the UK and Ireland. Although the borders of Germany and other European countries have been battled over in the past, European borders are now generally accepted without fuss. When Germany was still divided into West and East Germany, these borders were slightly less static, but the fall of the Berlin Wall has allowed Germany to become a more settled state. Many of the borders of Germany have not changed since the end of WWII.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *