What were Sweden, Denmark, Norway and Finland called?

Trivia Crack Question: What were Sweden, Denmark, Norway and Finland called?
Trivia Crack Answer: Scandinavia

About Sweden, Denmark, Norway and Finland

Sweden, Denmark, Norway and Finland were called Scandinavia. Scandinavia is still occasionally used to refer to the four countries, but it is no longer considered one entity. Norway and Sweden are located on a peninsula still known as the Scandinavian Peninsula. Finland was historically part of the Swedish kingdom, making it a part of Scandinavia. However, it is not considered a part of the cultural Scandinavia of modern times. Sweden, Denmark and Norway are still considered Scandinavian countries and their languages Scandinavian today. This is much more of a cultural union than political or boundary. The use of Scandinavia as a reference to Sweden, Denmark and Norway began in the early 1800s. It was popularized with Hans Christian Andersen’s poem, ‘I am a Scandinavian’. These four countries are often referred to as the Nordic countries today, as it reduces confusion about whether or not Finland is included. Nordic countries also includes Greenland, Iceland and some small islands. Estonia has also petitioned to join the Nordic Council. Scandinavia is home to the Sami, Norwegians, Finnish, Danish and Swedish people. The Sami have been and are still discriminated against by the other populations. They are the indigenous people of Scandinavia, especially Norway.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *